A Street Cat Named Bob: And How He Saved My Life

James is a street musician struggling to make ends meet.   Bob is a stray cat looking for somewhere warm to sleep.   When James and Bob meet, they forge a never-to-be-forgotten friendship that has been charming readers from Thailand to Turkey.

Template: Sticky

This is a sticky post. There are a few things to verify: The sticky post should be distinctly recognizable in some way in comparison to normal posts. You can style the .sticky class if you are using the post_class() function to generate

Peter the Great: His Life and World

From the Modern Library’s new set of beautifully repackaged hardcover classics by Robert K. Massie—also available are Nicholas and Alexandra and The Romanovs.Against the monumental canvas of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century Europe and Russia unfolds the magnificent story of Peter the

In Search of Sisterhood: Delta Sigma Theta and the Challenge of the Black Sorority Movement

This history of the largest block women’s organization in the United States is not only the story of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority (DST), but also tells of the increasing involvement of black women in the political, social, and economic affairs

Savage Inequalities: Children in America’s Schools

For two years, beginning in 1988, Jonathan Kozol visited schools in neighborhoods across the country, from Illinois to Washington D.C., and from New York to San Antonio. He spoke with teachers, principals, superintendents, and, most important, children. What he found

Gettysburg: The Last Invasion

From the acclaimed Civil War historian, a brilliant new history—the most intimate and richly readable account we have had—of the climactic three-day battle of Gettysburg (July 1–3, 1863), which draws the reader into the heat, smoke, and grime of Gettysburg

Revolutionary Summer: The Birth of American Independence

A distinctive portrait of the crescendo moment in American history from the Pulitzer-winning American historian, Joseph Ellis.The summer months of 1776 witnessed the most consequential events in the story of our country’s founding. While the thirteen colonies came together and

America the Beautiful: Rediscovering What Made This Nation Great

What is America becoming? Or, more importantly, what can she be if we reclaim a vision for the things that made her great in the first place?In America the Beautiful, Dr. Ben Carson helps us learn from our past in

The Guns at Last Light: The War in Western Europe, 1944-1945

It is the twentieth century’s unrivaled epic: at a staggering price, the United States and its allies liberated Europe and vanquished Hitler. In the first two volumes of his bestselling Liberation Trilogy, Rick Atkinson recounted how the American-led coalition fought

The Men Who Lost America: British Leadership, the American Revolution, and the Fate of the Empire

The loss of America was a stunning and unexpected defeat for the powerful British Empire. Common wisdom has held that incompetent military commanders and political leaders in Britain must have been to blame, but were they? This intriguing book makes

1Q84

“Murakami is like a magician who explains what he’s doing as he performs the trick and still makes you believe he has supernatural powers . . . But while anyone can tell a story that resembles a dream, it’s the

Complete Me (The Stark Trilogy)

For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes the third novel in the erotic, fast-paced trilogy including Release Me and Claim Me. This sexy, emotionally charged romance continues the story of Damien Stark, the powerful multimillionaire